My First Mead

After just having completed my first ever beer (IPA), I decided i’d chuck something into the fermenter so something is constantly being brewed and I can get a larger fermenter for other beer batches. I decided to go with mead because it takes a while to ferment, it gets pretty strong, it’s easy to brew and it can be pretty tasty once its fully mellowed out. Specifications:

Date: 8/5/2019
Vessel: Glass Carboy
Batch: 4.5L
Honey: 2kg
OG: 1.135
FG: 1.016
Yeast: Mangrove Jacks Mead Yeast
Target ABV: 14%
Primary fermenter: 1 month
Bottle: 3 months to 1 year

Currently it’s been just over a week and the mead is still slowly bubbling away. I’ll update this post on the condition of the mead once primary fermentation is done and when it’s time for a taste!

Bottled: 22nd of June 2019

I decided to chuck one of the little bottles of mead I made into the fridge just for a taste (5/09/2019). Needless to say, it’s very strong. It boomed me. I don’t have an accurate ABV reading on it but i’d say it has to be at least 15%. It definitely needs a bit more time ageing to mellow out a bit. Taste is pretty good though – although it is fairly sweet. Will check back on it in a few months.

Mead

Mead